Updating the CrowPi2 OS image

I am new to the Raspberry Pi. I see a link to the latest OS image:

https://github.com/Elecrow-RD/CrowPi2#official-crowpi2-system-image

but I don't know what the actual installation process is.

Do I update it somehow from the CrowPi2 itself? Or do I remove the memory card and do something with it from another computer?

Is there a link to step-by-step instructions?

Thanks!

Comments

• edited October 2021

Thank you for your suggestion.

You need to take out the SD card and use a computer for image burning. But, don’t worry, it can be roughly divided into 3 steps:

1. Download the mirror

2. Format the memory card

I usually use SDFormatter software to format the SD card. This is easy and you can find it by searching on the Internet.

3. Install the image

For image installing, I personally recommend Win32DiskImager, which is very easy to operate.

After you have burned the image, insert the memory card into the Raspberry Pi of CrowPi2, and then turn it on.

• edited July 2021

@chrispitude

Currently, there is no method to upgrade the Crowpi2 software alone. The only way to get the latest Crowpi2 software is to flash a new system microSD card with the latest Crowpi2 system image.

I would suggest you flash the new system image using a new microSD card, rather than write over your existing one. Because, every system customization you have done and all your user files/documents will be lost, if you write over your original microSD card. Afterward, you can copy your user files/documents back over from your original microSD card.

To flash the latest version of Crowpi2 system image, please follow the step-by-step instructions at this link.

• edited May 2021

@tony

Trying to edit my previous comment, but it wouldn't allow with the following edit permission error

@chrispitude